October TBR

Somehow, folks, we have already reached October! Which means autumn is in full swing, the leaves are changing colours and a plethora of pumpkin-flavoured goodies can be found everywhere you turn. And you know what else this means? It’s time for a new tbr (and for those who don’t know, tbr= to be read, i.e. the books I’m planning to read this month)

Below, you’ll see a photo of the books I’m planning on reading this month. I have a pretty bad habit of not sticking to my tbr, but in September I actually stayed pretty close to it so maybe I can continue my streak this month!

IMG_7221.JPG

*Photo Cred: Me! You can see more pics like this on my Instagram! 

October TBR

  1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor- I will admit, I have had this book on my tbr since May when I purchased it at BookCon and I have still not read it. I’m hoping this month I get a chance to read it because it seems so interesting and one of my buddies has been telling me to read this for ages!
    • Goodreads (GR) Synopsis: “Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.
      Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
      When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?”
  2. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken- This one would actually be a re-read for me. I really enjoyed this book (and the two others in the trilogy); so much so that I am planning on doing a buddy read of this book with a fellow bookstagrammer! I have the e-book for this series and plan on buying hard copies soon (because what bookworm doesn’t love to have hard copies of her favourite books!)
    • Goodreads Synopsis: “When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.
      Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones. When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. She is on the run, desperate to find the only safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who have escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents. When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at having a life worth living.”
  3. November 9 by Colleen Hoover- I have recently become a HUGE fan of Colleen Hoover. I read two of her books last month, Ugly Love and It Ends With Us, and I am currently reading another novel of hers called Confess and they are all just fantastic. I’m excited to read this beautiful book!
    • Goodreads Synopsis: “Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.”
  4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs- With the movie having just come out, I figured now is as good a time as any to see what all the fuss is about with this book. I actually found a like new copy of this book from a used bookstore for $6! And with Halloween just around the corner, this creepy novel will be good fun for this month!
    • Goodreads Synopsis: “A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.
      A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.”
  5. The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry- Yet another book that has been on by tbr for months and somehow I still haven’t read it. I have to admit, this was a cover buy because just look at how pretty that book is! I saw it all over bookstagram so I just had to have it! Hopefully I can get to it this month!
    • Goodreads Synopsis: “Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
      Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
      That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.
      Emily Henry’s stunning debut novel is Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife, and perfectly captures those bittersweet months after high school, when we dream not only of the future, but of all the roads and paths we’ve left untaken.”

So that’s my to-read list for October! I may deviate from this (let’s be real, I’m almost certain I will), but I like to at least have an idea of what I’d like to read for the month. I might even pick up a few new books along the way too!

Stay tuned for updates, peeps!

Peace out, bookworms✌🏼

2 thoughts on “October TBR

  1. Wow! Written with detail and charm. I was gently pulled into the books you wrote about. I know I want to see the movie from the book about the “Peculiar” kiddos. So you’very encouraged me to finish the 3 books I started last month, this month! Great synopsis, keep ‘um coming.

    Like

  2. Pingback: October Wrap-Up – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

