Goodreads Challenge 2016

Goodreads is one of the greatest websites for book lovers everywhere. You can check out book reviews from fellow readers, join in on book discussions with other Goodreaders, and set a reading goal for the year and see how others are progressing too! Speaking of reading goals, I’ve joined in on the Goodreads Reading Challenge every year since 2012 and it seems that I’m only ever successful in reaching my goal every other year!

Last year my goal was to read 30 books and I actually surpassed it and read 32! Based on last year’s triumph, I decided, hey why not challenge myself to read even more books this year? So I buckled down and chose to set my goal at 40 books for the year and so far here’s my progress:

screen-shot-2016-10-03-at-15-24-36
My progress so far! I’m a tad bit behind…

 

According to Goodreads, I’m about six books behind schedule with my current number of 24 books. I used to get discouraged seeing that I’m not quite as far along as I’d like to be, but this is actually motivating me to kick things into gear! I’ve just barely passed the 50% mark but if I keep up my current pace of about 5 books a month, and maybe 6 books in one month, I can certainly reach my goal!

A majority of the books I read fall under the Young Adult genre and if the above picture isn’t a dead giveaway that I’m obsessed with YA novels, then I don’t know what is. YA novels are usually pretty quick reads (unless you’re talking about the Harry Potter or Throne of Glass series which are MASSIVE) so they’re quite good for getting those numbers up to reach my goal. I’m currently making my way through Colleen Hoover’s Confess (which is classified as New Adult Romance) and I’m excited to see where the story goes, as well as getting the satisfaction of adding another read to my list for the year! I’ve got several YA novels lined up next to help me make more progress!

I’ll keep you all posted on my progress-wish me luck!

Let me know if you’ve undertaken the Goodreads Reading Challenge as well!

Peace out, bookworms✌🏼

Kalli 🙂

2 thoughts on “Goodreads Challenge 2016

  1. Oooohh this is a nice update!! I think I’m right on track for mine, but before my reading slump I was 15 books ahead :/ We can keep each other on track – I need to read 40 more books this year…

    Like

Leave a Reply

