Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover (as spoiler-free as can be!)

“It’s amazing how much distance one truth can create between two people.”

Rating: A solid 4 stars!

Genre: New Adult Romance

Pages: 306

Colleen Hoover’s novel Confess centres around the charismatic and selfless Owen Mason Gentry and the sweet but fierce Auburn Mason Reed. The two share more than a middle name; a deep, seemingly inexplicable, connection forms between them from the moment the two meet when Auburn walks up to the door of Owen’s art studio.  There’s more than meets the eye with Auburn and Owen’s stories- these characters have much more depth to them than is immediately known.

As the title indicates, confessions and truths (and lack thereof) are at the core of this love story which was unlike the other Colleen Hoover novels I’ve read before. This novel does not focus as heavily on the physical relationship between its main characters as much as Hoover’s novels often do, rather exploring the dynamics between them as they begin to fall in love despite the forces that strive to keep them apart. Owen is instantly likeable, making a living by painting the “confessions” left in the dropbox in his studio, yet not quite as forthcoming with confessions of his own.

IMG_7286.JPG
Photo cred: Yours Truly!

It was extremely enjoyable to read the chapters from both Auburn and Owen’s perspectives, almost as if you are stepping inside the minds of the characters as the events are unfolding. Tragedy has plagued both of their lives which has in turn greatly affected their love lives, both Owen and Auburn losing people so near and dear to their hearts during their teenage years. Their lives are intertwined from the very beginning, though only one of them is privy to that fact. Actually, we don’t even get to see how their pasts converge until the very end of the novel (and when I say the very end, I mean THE VERY END). While I generally like this particular writing method, I would’ve liked to see a chapter after that to see the reactions to that revelation. Despite this, I felt that the ending, set five years in the past, was very heartwarming and sweet.

For all the love I have for Owen and Auburn and their burgeoning relationship, I have a strong dislike for Trey, the brother of Auburn’s first love, Adam. From the moment he first appeared on the page, I felt uneasy about him. Where Owen gives Auburn confidence and a feeling of comfort, Trey condescends and even frightens her. Trey is the complete polar opposite of his brother, Auburn’s first boyfriend Adam, the dark where Adam was light, the storm where Adam was calm. The discomfort Auburn feels whenever she interacts with Trey is almost palpable- he even made me feel uncomfortable as I was reading! Thankfully, Trey’s appearances are usually brief, though they become more frequent as the book goes on. Despite the fact that I am by no means a fan of Trey, I did like that he still played a main role because without a somewhat villainous character in the story, this tale would’ve been a little too perfect!

Confess is certainly one of my favourite reads this year so far. While it was not the action-laden novel I am accustomed, it was filled with a great deal of heart. Hoover crafts such realistic and relatable characters that you simply can’t help falling in love with. The ending left a little to be desired, but the story overall was one that will certainly stay with me for quite some time. I look forward to reading more of Hoover’s novels!

Have any of you read novels by the wonderful Colleen Hoover? Let me know in the comments below!

Peace out, bookworms ✌🏼

-K

12 thoughts on “Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover (as spoiler-free as can be!)

  1. Becca

    I haven’t read any books by her, but your review does make me curious!! Trey sounds… unpleasant? I have a hard time with characters like that sometimes, but I like how you mentioned his role as a semi-villain is kind of important even if he’s a horrible person. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Somehow I just got a notification you’d commented-sorry! I just got into reading Colleen Hoover books after seeing the bookstagram obsession with her and I really enjoy her novels! While I really liked Confess, my favourite by her is her most recent novel It Ends With Us. I’m going to do a review for it soon so I can gush about how much I love it haha. Trey is quite unpleasant, but definitely a necessary evil for the story!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Becca

        No worries! My wordpress does that randomly too. ˆ.ˆ I’ve also learned to check my spam filter a lot as some pre-approved people have been shanghai-ed by my comment trolls and jailed for no reason. :/

        Like

  2. I’ve read Confess and It Ends With Us, and I have to say that this book wasn’t my favourite. The artwork is AMAZING, and the fact that the confessions were submitted by Hoover’s readers make for a special reading experience, but unfortunately I just didn’t fall in love with the characters. I’m glad to hear that you did, though, and I’m keen to read more of her works. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes the artwork was so good in this! I thought that was really cool that she included pictures in the book, because I didn’t really have a good mental image of what they looked like. I really enjoyed Confess but I’d have to say It Ends With Us is my favourite too! I’m going to review it soon so you’ll be able to fangirl about it along with me 😉

      Like

  3. Pingback: October Wrap-Up – K The Ravenous Reader

  4. Pingback: A (95% spoiler-free)Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover – K The Ravenous Reader

  5. Pingback: A 95% spoiler-free Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

