Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Genre: New Adult Romance

Pages: 310 (paperback)

Publication Date: 10 November 2015

My rating: 4.75/5 stars!

“Fallon, if insta-love is one of your least favourite things about romance novels, we might already be in trouble.”

Goodreads synopsis:

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

 

I just HAD to post this review on this special day, the 9th of November, because the irony of this day was not lost on me! Let me just start this off by saying I LOVED this book. This is the fourth Colleen Hoover book that I’ve read over the last couple of months and every time I pick up another one of her novels, I fall more in love with her writing. When did I become this person who willingly picked up romance novels instead of running far, far away from them? I still don’t consider myself a total lover of romance novels (despite recent evidence of the contrary), but there is just something about reading a Colleen Hoover novel that is just unlike any other romance novel. The characters are so real that it feels like you’re reading about people who you could meet at some point in your life (or like people you may already know).

November 9 is no different-Ben and Fallon are instantly likeable characters whose sharp wit made me chuckle constantly while reading. I wish I could be as quick on my feet as those two! Fallon is a girl after my own heart, one who loves to read and compares her romantic situations to those in one of the many romance novels she reads. She has such low self-esteem in the beginning of the novel, thinking love and a career in acting is nearly impossible after a tragic moment in her teenage life derails her plans. Or so she thinks!

Fallon’s chance encounter with Ben, the charming and handsome aspiring writer, on leads to a whirlwind romance that seems a little to good to be true. But what is so refreshing about this book is that the main characters are actually fully aware of the fact that their romance seems a bit like the cringe-worthy “insta-love” that so often plagues romance novels. And you know what? They do fall in love quite quickly, but not willingly. Neither Ben nor Fallon want to admit right away that they’re falling each other and the emotional rollercoaster that ensues because of this was almost too much for me to handle! I laughed with these two, I was driven nearly to tears, I gasped with surprise once I reached a ~plot twist~ and I loved every minute of it!

Ben was such a swoon-worthy male lead. He was such a charmer and always knew just the right thing to say. Looking back at it, I am shocked that I didn’t roll my eyes at some of the lines he was feeding Fallon because they sounded a bit too good to be true. But, like the initially sceptical Fallon, I soon fell prey to the sweet words of Ben the Writer. I love that the two of them make it a point to meet up on the same day each year after their initial meeting and that the date holds a different meaning for each of them. But there’s more than meets the eye with these two and their journey to find themselves and each other was such a joy to read.

This book was absolutely fantastic! It appealed to me, a MAJOR romance novel sceptic, and made me even more of a Colleen Hoover fan than I already was! It was such a fun, heartwarming and emotional read- I definitely recommend it!

Let’s have a little chat! Have you all read this book or any Colleen Hoover novels? What’re your thoughts? I’d love to hear them!

That’s all for now, bookworms ✌🏼

-K

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: November Wrap-Up! – K The Ravenous Reader

  2. Pingback: A (95% spoiler-free)Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover – K The Ravenous Reader

  3. Pingback: A 95% spoiler-free Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

