Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA Fantasy

Pages: 462 (hardcover)

Release Date: 28 July 2016 (USA)

My rating: 4/5 stars!

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

Goodreads synopsis:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

img_7366
Photo cred: yours truly!

 

Heists and shenanigans. Those are the first two words that come to mind for me when I think of the wonder that is Six of Crows. And believe me, this book is FULL of them.  I’d been told by my fellow bookstagrammers to read this book for the last few months and once I  picked it up, I finally understood what all the fuss was about! The world-building and the characterisation in this novel are prime. From the very beginning, you feel fully immersed in the intriguing world of Ketterdam and getting to know its inhabitants is truly entertaining.

The characters in Six of Crows are some of the most dynamic I’ve ever seen. The story centres around key members of a gang of thieves called The Dregs, lead by the stoic but multi-faceted Kaz Brekker. Inej, also known as The Wraith, is Kaz’s eyes and ears, appearing and vanishing so stealthily you may even convince yourself that she was never there. Jesper and Wylan provide the story with a lot of comic relief, as Jesper is the king of the one-liners that are often uttered at Wylan’s expense. The sassy Nina, a Grisha with the power to control or stop your heart, is often at odds with a perpetually grumpy Fjerdan named Matthias. Even when characters are at odds, their exchanges can be so hilarious:

“Its not natural for women to fight.”

“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet here you stand.” 

The characters’ differences are what make them work together so well as they set out to complete a seemingly impossible heist. I have to admit, when I first started reading, I had a hard time keeping up with the all the characters and the different places that were mentioned because they have some tricky names. Once I got used to the names and the chapters that alternated character perspectives, I was really able to get into the story. The plot is full of twists and turns that keep you guessing until the very end. I was constantly wondering, “can they really pull this off?” and every time I doubted them, I was proved wrong. What was so refreshing to see was that the characters, even the ones seemingly full of bravado, carried some degree of self-doubt but despite this, they always manage to pull through and come up with a solution to whatever new obstacle jumps into their path.

This book was fantastic and totally different from what I was expecting when I first picked it up. I really enjoyed it! Seeing how the characters interacted with one another was so entertaining-I found myself chuckling throughout the book! If you’re looking for a book that is fun, exciting and full of plot twists, then Six of Crows is definitely for you! I haven’t read the sequel, Crooked Kingdom, yet, but I can only imagine the shenanigans the gang gets into after how SoC ends!

Have any of you read Six of Crows? Who is your favourite character? I think mine would be Nina Zenik. I’d love to hear your thoughts, so comment below!

Later, bookworms ✌🏼

-K

4 thoughts on “Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I love the SoC duology!! 💕 My favorite character was Nina in the first one but then Wylan grew on me so much in CK, that he became my favorite. Plus, I’m a huge Wesper shipper! Get ready when you read CK because the FEELS ARE REAL. I stayed up until 4 AM reading and there was a section of the book where I seriously sobbed for about 45 minutes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Wesper too! I think those two are adorable! Omg I can’t wait to read CK! I’ve heard that the feels are out of control with that one. Ahhh hearing that you sobbed during it does not make me feel good! That can only mean something REALLY BAD happens and I don’t know if my heart can take it 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday: 13 September 2017 – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

