Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Pages: 327 (hardcover)

Rating: 2.5 stars

“Harry, there is never a perfect answer in this messy, emotional world. Perfection is beyond the reach of humankind, beyond the reach of magic. In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”

Goodreads synopsis:

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places

IMG_6959.JPG
Photo cred: Yours Truly!

 

I did not love this book. Now before you all come for me with the pitchforks and torches, let me just say I tried SO HARD to love this. I have been a die-hard Harry Potter fan for the last 16 years so the moment I heard that there was a new Harry Potter story coming into this world I could not have been happier. Unfortunately, this book was nothing like what I’d been hoping for.

Cursed Child is written in script format, meaning it is the actual script for the play that is currently taking place in London. While I knew this prior to reading it, this format definitely took some getting used to and even more than halfway through it, I was not a fan. This is not to say that I am against reading plays-in fact, I quite like them (though I haven’t read one in a while). I just wanted something different from this highly-anticipated 8th story in the Harry Potter universe.

I grew up reading the books and watching the movies and day I finished Deathly Hallows back in 2007 was a sad one indeed; a day I thought meant the end of an era. So when I could finally get my hands on Cursed Child this past July, I was beyond excited. Unfortunately, this book did not live up to the hype for me. The beloved Golden Trio, Harry, Ron and Hermione, were not portrayed in a way that felt reminiscent of the previous HP books. Hermione was the only one that seemed at all like Rowling’s version of her original character, and that is not saying much because I found Cursed Child‘s Hermione to be a little irritating.

There were some ~interesting~ plot twists that I won’t go into for the sake of remaining spoiler-free, but even these twists were not enough to make me love this. Possibly, this book is more exciting when viewed in its play form, which I would love to see (and feel as though I should, being the devout Harry Potter fan that I am). It still saddens me that I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. I am glad that I read it, for the sake of being able to say that I did, but I won’t be picking it up for a reread any time soon.

Have you all read Cursed Child? What were your thoughts on it? I’d love to hear them in the comments below!

That’s all for now!

-K

Leave a Reply

