Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Greetings bookworms! Welcome to the latest instalment of Top Ten Tuesday, a fun weekly meme that is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme for this week is a Thanksgiving freebie; so I am free to ramble on about the top ten things I’m thankful for this year! It goes without saying that I am thankful for my family and friends, so I will make this list more about the material things I am thankful for!

Top Ten Things I’m Thankful For

  1. Netflix

Image result for netflix logo

Oh, Netflix, how I love thee so! How many times have I stayed in and binge watched a show for several hours without moving? More times than I care to admit. Do I regret becoming a couch potato for the sake of endless hours of TV entertainment? Not at all.

2. Amazon

amazon-logo-vector-download

*screams at the top of her lungs* I LOVE AMAZON! I have always loved online shopping, but there are few things better than online shopping plus FREE 2-day shipping as a Prime member! This is especially perfect when I DESPERATELY need the next book in a series that I’m reading or when I want to do a sizeable book haul and know it’ll be at my door within two days. And their prices are great, too! New and used books for fabulously cheap prices? Yes, please!

3. Twining’s English Breakfast Tea

 

https://www.twiningsusa.com/catalog/images/zoom/Product_Small/F05325_1_Bags.png

I really enjoy drinking tea and manage to drink a cup almost every day. While I like a variety of teas, my current favourite is Twining’s English Breakfast Tea. It is so smooth and soothing, but gives me a little bit of a caffeine kick when I need it. Add a little bit of milk and sugar and you’ve got yourself a delicious cup of tea!

4. Bookstagram

Image result for bookstagram mug

What is bookstagram, you ask? Well it is the wonderful community of book lovers on Instagram that take beautiful pictures of books and chat about them! I first joined bookstagram in June of this year (not even sure how, it kind of just happened haha!) and I am so glad I did! I have met some amazing people on there and discovered so many new books that I probably wouldn’t have heard of otherwise. Also, it’s provided me with a lot of inspiration to take photos of books and to read even more! It is just the greatest! You can check out my bookstagram account to get an idea of what it’s like and you can see some of the amazing accounts that I follow too!

5. Harry Potter

img_6959
Photo by Yours Truly!

Harry Potter is something I have been thankful for since I first picked up the books about 15 years ago. The books further solidified my love of reading and every year when a new book came out, I raced through it and had to wait another agonising year for the next one to reach the shelves. I can barely put into words how much I love the series. The books, the movies, the fanfiction, everything about the fandom is magical and wonderful and I am so glad it’s a part of my life!

6. Gilmore Girls Revival

gilmore girls revival.jpg

I am BEYOND excited for the Gilmore Girls revival coming out this Friday (the 25th)! I can’t believe it’s finally happening! Rory is my bookworm spirit animal and I love her relationship with Lorelai. I was late to the Gilmore Girls party, seeing as I didn’t start watching the show until about 5 years ago, but better late than never! This is one of my all-time favourite shows and I could not be happier that they finally decided to bring the wonderful town of Stars Hollow back to life!

7. Spotify

spotify-logo-horizontal-black.jpg

Where oh where would I be without Spotify?! It’s how I listen to virtually any song I want to anytime, anywhere and as many times as I want. My latest obsession: the Hairspray (2007) soundtrack. I have had “You Can’t Stop the Beat” on repeat for the last 4 days. THANKS SPOTIFY!

8. The Throne of Glass Series

TOG-NYT-Cover.jpg

I suppose in saying I’m grateful for this series, I should thank the literary gods for blessing us lowly peasants with Queen Sarah J Maas. She is a fantastic writer and created this AHMAZING series! Seriously, after Harry Potter, this is my favourite series. I was introduced to it by a friend back in May and my goodness I had no idea what a whirlwind I was in for when I began reading these books. The sixth and final (wahhh 😦 ) book will be out next year and I cannot wait to see how the series ends. It is an emotional rollercoaster and full of so much action it will constantly keep you on the edge of your seat and keep you up reading well past your bedtime!

9. Bookish Subscription Boxes

This was my first year subscribing to bookish boxes and I have been in love with them ever since I signed up for my first Owlcrate right after BookCon in May. I have discovered new books and received some adorable and unique bookish items that I would not be able to find outside of these boxes. I received my first Bookish Box just last week so I haven’t posted an unboxing of that yet (I don’t want to spoil the fun for those who haven’t gotten theirs yet!) but you can check out last month’s Owlcrate unboxing here. I’m going to be receiving both boxes next month so that’ll be so exciting and you better believe I’ll be showing them off on here too!

10. Bookshelves

IMG_5788.JPG
A #shelfie from June before I organised my shelves a bit

Now I know this might sound a bit simple, but as a bookworm, who wouldn’t be grateful for bookshelves? They are the home to my many books and bookish knick-knacks and I am so happy to have them! I purchased two more 3-shelf bookcases in July because my one 6-shelf case just wasn’t enough anymore. As you can see from the clutter in this photo, I was in desperate need of more. And this doesn’t even show the pile of books I had on the floor too! I am so happy I have new shelves and I even have room to spare for the many books I plan on buying in the future 😉

Well, there’s my list! What things are you all grateful for this Thanksgiving? I’d love to hear what’s on your list!

Thanks for tuning in! Later, bookworms!

-K

 

Leave a Reply

