Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2016

toptentuesday
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

I honestly cannot even believe we are at the end of the year! Seriously, WHERE DID THE TIME GO?! I feel like I was sucked into a time vortex and have yet to be released from it (I also feel as though that analogy might’ve made more sense in my head 😅). Anywhooo…on to the important part and that’s *drumroll please* Best Books of 2016 for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! I’m so excited to share with you all the books that had me bursting with ALL the feels and flipping through the pages like a madwoman! Here we go!

Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

img_7305

I read this book over the summer and I died from cuteness overload! Seriously this book was ALL OF THE ADORABLE! I loved it and am constantly (aka annoyingly) recommending this book to people.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

img_6760

This book, you guys. THIS BOOK! I had heart palpitations the entire I was reading because Sabaa Tahir is a SOUL-CRUSHING TORTURER aka a fantastic writer who knows how to give you all the feels while never letting up on allllll the action!

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

img_6780

My first Colleen Hoover novel and still my favourite 5 books later! This book is SO GOOD and I still am feeling ALL THE FEELS nearly 4 months after reading it!

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

img_7235

I nearly included the entire Throne of Glass series on this list as one book because the books in this series are my babies and I hate for my babies to be separated *weeps* Nevertheless, I must be a bad mother and pick a favourite. Queen of Shadows was EVERYTHING and even though it is not the most recent instalment of the series, it remains my favourite! That book gave me SO MUCH LIFE! I literally sat in an empty hallway at college everday to read this in between classes and kept making gasping sounds and weird faces, further solidifying my reputation amongst my peers as a lunatic. #noregrets

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

kmbooks24

This book had everything; science fiction, romance, hilarity, all-around awesomeness. This book is so unlike anything I’ve ever read and I mean that in the best way possible. The authors were so dang creative it is unreal! I never knew what was going to happen next! Remind me why I haven’t read the sequel yet? *brb off to purchase Gemina*

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

IMG_8041.JPG

I recently read Ari & Dante and my goodness this book is all of the precious! It warms my heart just thinking about it. It’s not plot-heavy, but that does not matter AT ALL because these characters are so well-written and wonderful that I wouldn’t’ve wanted this book done any differently *gushes incessantly*

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

img_7687

Do you like heist books/movies? Do you like witty characters and lots of action? Are you a living, breathing human? If you answered yes to any of these questions, than Six of Crows is for you! This book is beautiful inside and out and I just love these characters! I ask myself again: WHY HAVEN’T I READ THE SEQUEL?! *scolds self for so much stupidity*

________________________________________________________________

So it seems I was DEEPLY rooted in the YA universe this year. I think this year might be the most YA-centric year I’ve had in a while! But hey, who doesn’t love YA novels?

So on that note, let’s have a chat! Have you read any of the books on my list? What’re your thoughts? Got any faves from 2016? I’d love to hear it all!

Until next time!

-K

 

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2016

  1. Pingback: Goodbye 2016: Yearly Wrap-Up – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

