Goodbye 2016: Yearly Wrap-Up

Happy New Year blogosphere! I can’t believe another year has come and gone! Where did the time go?! I rang in my New Year while watching Captain Gorgeous America: Civil War with my mom and my little pup! I love peaceful nights in ๐Ÿ™‚ I spent most of my New Year’s Eve day power reading through my final book for my reading challenge: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Okay so I may have cheated a bit and read a book that I read last year (pretty much at the EXACT same time as this year nbd) but hey, I still read it from start to finish so it counts!

Check out my 2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge!

Screen Shot 2017-01-01 at 17.09.29.png

I’d set my goal for 40 books for the year and this was the highest goal I’d ever set. I was SO proud of myself for having reached it (even if it was at the VERY LAST MINUTEย ๐Ÿ˜‚) and I think I have bookstagram to thank for that. I got so many great book suggestions from my bookish pals and I felt extra motivated seeing other people’s goals too! Now I didn’t read nearly as many books as other people (I saw someone read 348 books this yearย ๐Ÿ˜ฑ) but this was a major accomplishment for me! I read 8 more books than in 2015!

Here are the books I read in December:

Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

img_7691

I listed this as one of my favourite reads of 2016 in my previous Top Ten Tuesdayย ย post and for good reason! This book was all kinds of enjoyable and had something for everyone- sci-fi lovers, romance fans, bookworms in general. I am certainly planning on reading the sequel,ย Gemina, this year!

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Heartless by Stephanie Meyer

IMG_8012.JPG

Heartless was a retelling of the classic story of Alice’s Adventures of Wonderland, giving the back story of the evil Queen of Hearts. I’d heard such good things about this book that I scrambled to get an exclusive cover copy of it in the November Owlcrate (it’s soooo prettyyyyy *caresses cover lovingly*)! I didn’t love this book as much as I wanted to (the ending had me RAGING) but it was a fairlyย enjoyable read. If nothing else, I really enjoyed the bajillions of food descriptions in there (but also that was torturous because it always made me want to eat ALL THE THINGS).

My rating: 3/5 stars

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

img_8041

This book gave me an incurable case of the feels and it was GLORIOUS! I loved it so so much and I’m every so grateful to have read it. I NEED THE SEQUEL NOW PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

Never Never: Part One, Never Never: Part Two, andย Never Never: Part Threeย byย Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

2016 was the year of CoHo for me- I had never heard of her before then and now I can’t think of a world without her! So of course when a friend of mine recommended I check out this short, three-part series, there was no way I was passing this up. It was an interesting read during parts one and two, but part three left A LOT to be desired. I was waiting for answers to some MAJOR questions and did I get any? NOPE. Not a SINGLE ONE. Needless to say I’m still extremelyย a little bitter about this!

My rating (overall): 3.5/5 stars

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

milk-and-honey

I rarely (and by rarely I mean never) read poetry books. I mean, the thought doesn’t even cross my mind when I’m looking for another book to read. But, out of desperation to reach my Goodreads goal, I downloaded this short poetry book and was in for quite the ride! No one warned me of how ~intense~ this was going to be! I went into this with the mindset of it being all sunshine and rainbows (I mean,ย look at that title!)ย but that was soooo not the case. If you’re prepared for some shocking poems, then this would be for you. I didn’t love it, but I did bookmark a few poems with quotable lines!

My rating: 3/5 stars

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

img_6675

Ahย Fangirl.ย How I love thee so! While this was a reread, I enjoyed this just as much the second time around! Getting back into Fangirl was like going back home after being away for a while-it was so comforting and relaxing. I loved the characters and saw so much of myself in Cath. And don’t even get me started on howย adorable Levi was (warning: his cuteness level is OFF THE CHARTS)! This book will forever be a comfort read for me. I might just make this my yearly right-after-Christmas read!

My rating: 5/5 stars!

So, I must say, I had a pretty good reading year! I discovered new authors, read more books than previous years, and discovered new favourite reads. Woohoo what a time to be alive! I’m looking forward to another great year of reading and discoveries!

How was your reading year? Did you reach your GR goal? Tell me all about it!

Until next time,

-K

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2016: Yearly Wrap-Up

  1. You read so many great books last month ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ JOIN THE ILLUMINAE OBSESSION CREW ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ™ƒ!! I’ve yet to read Fangirl ๐Ÿ™ˆ, but seeing how much you love it makes me want to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looking back on it, I had a pretty good reading month in December! I am SO totally in the Illuminae obsession crew!! It was SO GOOD! And yes you definitely need to read Fangirl if you’re in a YA contemporary mood. It’s different than other contemporaries I’ve read (no insta-love!) so I think you’d like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

