Review: Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

After what has felt like my entire life (but was really a little over a month), I FINALLY finished reading Cress earlier this week. This was the third book in The Lunar Chronicles series that I was reading with my bookstagram buddy and my goodness was it a struggle for us to get through it! Warning: this review will contain RANT UPON RANT and gifs expressing my feelings 😂🙈

Genre: YA sci-fi/fantasy

Pages: 550 (US Hardcover)

Publication Date: 4 February 2014

My rating: 2.5/5 stars

Goodreads synopsis 

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

scarlet

HALLELUJAH I AM DONE WITH THIS BOOK! That was literally the first thought that ran through my mind when I closed the book. It took me far longer to read than I’d anticipated. There were parts that I enjoyed, but overall, this book was EXHAUSTING. I didn’t feel invested in any of the characters. In fact, I cared less about everyone than I did during the previous books. The only feelings that remained constant for me were my EXTREME dislike for Wolf and Scarlet. The plot felt beyond absurd at best and downright annoying at worst.

This book centred around Cress, a Lunar girl who was isolated from everyone except the horror that was thaumaturge Sybil because she lived on a SATELLITE. That right there is where my annoyance began. I further got annoyed when *spoiler alert* Thorne goes blind in the most inconceivable way possible and yet HE STILL FIGHTS WITH PEOPLE LIKE HE CAN SEE! A blind man cannot aim properly, and yet Marissa Meyer just makes it seem as though, nbd Thorne is blind but he can just handle shooting a gun without the ability to see.

giphy.gif

That is only the tip of the iceberg in the “how many ridiculous things can an author squeeze into one book” category. Honestly, Meyer’s plots are just so ridiculous that I just COULD NOT deal with it and if I hadn’t been reading this book as a buddy read, I DEFINITELY would’ve given up a few pages into it.

Another point on the ridiculous-things-Meyer-does list is force EVERY character into a heteronormative relationship. I understand that everyone loves some romance in a story (I totally get it, I do too!), but these relationships did not develop organically. Instead, every male and every female fall in love with each other, sometimes in a VERY CREEPY way (i.e. the banes of my existence Wolf and Scarlet). I am all for a good ship, but none of these work for me. I don’t like being force-fed relationships, and I feel like that is exactly what Meyer is trying to do in this book.

giphy (1).gif

Also, the introduction to Princess Winter that we get in the book does not at all make me want to continue reading because Winter is INSANE. Straight up psychotic. And I don’t mean this in a “this’ll be fun to read” kind of way. Winter’s insanity just made me roll my eyes ONCE AGAIN during this book.  If Cress was a torturous read, I certainly could not read a book centred around a character like Winter. I will not be continuing The Lunar Chronicles any time soon, if ever. This series was just not for me. I was so looking forward to it ( I even asked for the box set for Christmas!), but it did not live up to the hype for me at all. Meyer’s writing is some of the worst I’ve encountered in the YA world. My tbr is just WAY too long for me to continue on with a series I’m not enjoying.


Have you read Cress or any of the Lunar Chronicles books? What’re your thoughts? I’d love to hear them!

That’s all for now!

-K

3 thoughts on “Review: Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

  1. So sorry the lunar chronicles isn’t working out for you, Kalli!!! Thorne is very Disney movie funny in that he’s completely incapacitated but somehow still amazing at what he does LOL. Cress wasn’t really my favorite girl because even though she was like Thorne fangirly and somewhat relatable she still made me want to roll my eyes. Oh yeah and Winter is definitely cuckoo LOL – which you understand better through her book. Are you gonna read fairest? It is MESSED UP and omg I never hated a book villain so much in my entire life! I wanna punch Levana in her stupid ugly butt face 😡 Also that book made me super uncomfortable LOL. I hope some other fairytale inspired book will save you from the distress TLC is causing you girlfriend!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg just hearing your thoughts on Fairest makes me want to throw it out of a window hahaha I haven’t read it but I honestly can’t see myself reading it anytime soon anyway. I think I’m done with the Lunar Chronicles. I’m sad because I really wanted to love it after seeing such high praise for it on bookstagram! But hey, that’s why there’s so many different books in the world since everyone likes something different! Cress was okay, I felt pretty indifferent to her. And that is a good way of putting it, Thorne was very Disney in the sense he could still do EVERYTHING PERFECTLY despite being blind haha. If you’ve got some recommendations for some other fairytale retellings, I’d love to hear them! I’m definitely willing to give retellings a try again!

    Like

  3. Pingback: March Wrap-Up! – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

