Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast (2017)

Happy Monday everyone! Today I present to you a review for the wonder that is *drumroll please* BEAUTY AND THE BEAST! I saw it this past Saturday and have not been able to stop thinking about it since. So without further ado, here’s my movie review!

batb

Release Date: 17 March 2017 (USA)

My rating: ALL THE STARS!!

“I want adventure in the great wide somewhere.”

*NOTE: Normally, with my reviews I would include a synopsis of the book or movie that I am reviewing. I felt this was a bit unnecessary because unless you’ve been living UNDER A ROCK, you have at least the faintest idea as to what this wonderful movie is about. If not, GO SEE THE MOVIE (but do that anyway regardless).*

Beauty and the Beast has been one of my favourite Disney movies for as long as I can remember, most notably because the main character, Belle, is a huge bookworm who isn’t afraid to stand up for what (and who) she believes in. Also, the Beast’s library is pretty much the most goal-inspiring, Pinterest-worthy library I have EVER seen. Add some amazing songs into the mix, and I was SOLD! So when I found out a couple of years ago that a live-action version of this beloved movie was being made, starring Emma Watson, one of my favourite actresses, as Belle, I had a feeling I was going to enjoy it. I had no idea I was going to love it as much as I did!

In my opinion, this film is by far the best live-action remake Disney has released. I’ve seen other live-action remakes and have walked away feeling disappointed or altogether disinterested, despite having enjoyed the original animated versions. This was certainly not the case with Beauty and the Beast! I was intrigued from start to finish and I found myself smiling a lot throughout, singing along to the songs I know so well (“Belle” has not left my head since last week!), and nearly driven to tears at some moments. The feeling of nostalgia was so overwhelming for me; all the love I had for the original got mixed in and multiplied by the love I now have for this beautiful remake.

Book-to-movie adaptations often upset me with additions and creative liberties that were not a part of the original. While Beauty and the Beast contained new scenes and songs, these additions were some of my favourite aspects of the film! I especially loved that Beast got his own song, “Evermore,” that warms my heart just thinking about it. Now, as much as I love Emma Watson, I can admit that her singing won’t earn her a Grammy any time soon, but her voice was still very endearing and pleasant to listen to. Luke Evans (Gaston) and Dan Stevens (Beast) did a phenomenal job with their performances and both had surprisingly good singing voices! Who would’ve thought Dan Stevens could go from Downton Abbey’s Matthew Crawley to the Beast?! I was pleasantly surprised!

The casting, the scenery, and costume design were all absolute perfection! Everyone cast in this movie seemed like they were born to play their chosen rolls and the costumes they wore added to the perfection. My only complaint (and I use that word liberally) is that Belle constantly went out into the snowy grounds of Beast’s castle WITH NO COAT ON! Like how is this possible? What is this sorcery? I just didn’t understand haha!

Other than that teeny, tiny, extremely minute thing, I 100% LOVED this movie and I cannot wait to see it again! Seriously, anyone who wants to go see it with me, I will GLADLY accompany them. I will continue singing all the songs I’ve known my whole life and learn the new one! Actually, brb, I’m off to go listen to the soundtrack again for the millionth time πŸ˜‰


Have you seen this glorious movie yet? If you have, LET’S FANGIRL TOGETHER! If you haven’t, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR? Okay, I think I’ve assaulted you all with my screams in this review for long enough πŸ˜‰ Tell me your thoughts and I may or may not supply you with cookies in return (bribe, what bribe?).

That’s all for now!

-K

 

 

5 thoughts on “Movie Review: Beauty and the Beast (2017)

    1. I’m so glad someone else was thinking that too πŸ˜‚Beast was wearing like 3 coats and she had on a thin nothing dress πŸ™ˆ I have SUCH a crush on Dan Stevens 😍😍😍I loved him in Downton and seeing him in here was so great ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

