Review: Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

*I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review*

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 305 (Kindle edition)

Publication date: 24 June 2016

My rating: 2.5 stars

30807954

Goodreads synopsis

His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.

This book had such a promising start; the writing was good, if not a bit pretentious, and the main character Tegan Lockwood was a quirky, likeable and hopeless romantic who enjoyed reading the love letters of star-crossed lovers during WWII. This promising beginning took a nosedive when American bad boy but “deeper than meets the eye” musician Mason Keane steps on the scene and stays in Tegan’s family lodge. The dialogue in this book is so painful, I found myself cringing on numerous occasion. The way the characters talk is so unnatural and awkward; at one moment they speak as though they’re college professors and the next they start talking like aggravating teenagers. I mean, I love adjectives just as much as the next person, but the descriptions are so overly flowery that I could barely get through a few sentences without skimming to the next page.

I enjoyed the inclusion of the love letters between Tegan’s grandfather and his star-crossed love in the beginning of the story, but they weren’t included enough for my liking. They letters gave some depth to the book but only made an appearance a handful of times. I would’ve liked to see those more (though they were a bit long-winded, but still heartfelt). I also liked the songs that were written by Tegan and Mason. That felt reminiscent of Colleen Hoover’s “Maybe Someday” with the songs written by the characters. The songs and the letters were my (only) favourite things about this novel.

This book was laden with unnecessary sexual innuendos that were so uncomfortable that I just couldn’t tolerate them. Also, the author used the most ridiculous phrases I’ve ever heard. “Because you are now with a super sexified hunk muffin instead of c*nty Cale.” UMM WHAT?! Who says things like that?! And for this book to take place in England, the lingo was nothing like what a British person would say. It went from using every stereotypically British phrase to random American phrases that even most Americans don’t use anymore. It was just too much.

I had such high hopes for this book because I really enjoyed it in the beginning. But Mason and Tegan’s love story was not a cute one. For Tegan to be an “innocent” girl, she was the queen of using sexual innuendos and having nothing but sex on the brain. I almost DNF’d this book on several occasions but continued to fight my way through it. I wanted so badly to like this, but I was sadly disappointed.


That’s all for now!

-K

8 thoughts on “Review: Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

    1. Thank you! I seem to have a bit of an unpopular opinion because a lot of people on Goodreads seem to like this book more than me. You might still give it a try, but be warned about the crazy sexual innuendos haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. _booksarelove 💕

        I am pretty picky too :/ will just see how I go..when I eventually get to it. I have a very high pile of books for review to get through..it may have just gone a bit lower down on the pile haha

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday: 12 April 2017 – K The Ravenous Reader

  2. Pingback: April Wrap-Up – K The Ravenous Reader

Leave a Reply

