May Wrap-Up & June TBR

Hello my wonderful readers! I am SO LATE showing you all my monthly wrap-up, and I hope you wonderful beans will forgive me! Now, I didn’t have the most stellar of reading months, but I’m hoping June will bring about more progress for me. Somehow, I am still on track with my Goodreads goal of 40 books for the year (I’m actually 3 books ahead!) even though I had a slow month. You will notice I didn’t finishΒ A Court of Wings and Ruin…I was enjoying it until I wasn’tΒ πŸ™ƒΒ It’s like as soon as the weather got warmer, my brain went into contemporary mode and I couldn’t read a fantasy novel anymore. Maybe I’ll return to it…eventuallyΒ πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ

Books read in May:

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

This was a reread that I finished in the beginning of the month that I’d started in April. While I liked it more the second time around, I’m still not completely in love with this series.

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2

History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

history is all you left me

This book was…interesting. I finished it a couple of weeks ago and I’m STILL not certain how I really feel about it. It was a VERY sad book, and I suppose I should’ve expected that from the title, but it just made me feel depressed and upset while reading it. That is certainly not how I like to feel when I’m reading a book. I LOVE feels but these just didn’t do it for me. I’ll have a review up for this in a couple days so keep an eye out for that πŸ˜‰

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

always-and-forever-lara-jean

So technically, I finished this book early in the morning on 1 June, but since I read 99.9% of it in May, I’m including it here because I’m a rebel like that *laughs maniacally* Anywhoo, this book was so cute, it was ridiculous! It was the perfect ending to the adorable To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series and even though this third book almost didn’t happen, I am so happy it did! I need more Lara Jean and Peter because their relationship is #goals. I’ll have a full review up of this one soon too!

My rating:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2


So while I didn’t have the BEST reading month, it wasn’t too shabby, if I do say so myself! Now, on to the books I plan to read in June! My friend Callie (@lovelybookishbelle) and I have officially started what we call the Summer of Contemporaries, which basically means we read and fangirl about fun contemporary YA novels all summer!! We’ve already started (though the first book I read this month was not a part of our SoC ;))

June TBR:

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

34373364

I am actually cheating a bit since I’ve already finished this, but I was already planning on reading this in June! I picked this one up while I was on vacation in London because the synopsis sounded very cute. Unfortunately, this didn’t quite meet my expectations and left me wanting more from it (and I don’t mean that in a good way). I’ll have a review up soon!

Geekerella by Amy Poston

81uGB-QT1hL

This book marks the beginning of the Summer of Contemporaries for my friend and I! We’ve just started this one and already it is hilarious and really enjoyable! I’m excited to see where it goes!

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

cover100428-medium

I am ALL of the excitement about this one! I’ve been hearing nothing but great things about this book so I cannot wait to get to it!

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

61a18CVfpQL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

One of my bookstagram friends, Linn (@midnightclockwork) is constantly raving about how good this book is so I just HAD to have it! I have really been enjoying the LGBT contemporaries I’ve read recently, so I am excited to see if this is as good as other ones I’ve read!


CHAT WITH ME BOOK BEANS!

Have you read any of these books? I’d love to hear your thoughts on them so feel free to drop a comment below πŸ™‚

Until next time,

-K

 

 

9 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & June TBR

    1. Haha right, you just can’t go wrong with a book that is a geeky spin on Cinderella! I’m enjoying it so far, I’m almost 100 pages into it. I can’t wait for Elle and Darien to finally meet!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I started a few days ago, but didn’t get to read much over the weekend so I haven’t made it very far. Oh great! I’m so excited for that part! I’m enjoying their little text exchanges right now haha!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

