Review: Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 336 (US Hardcover)

Publication Date: 2 May 2017 (My bday!)

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 1/2

“One day all of this will be proof, proof that we were here, proof that we loved each other. It’s the guarantee that no matter what happens to us in the future, this time was ours.”

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

Matthias candle from NovellyYours

I’M NOT CRYING, YOU’RE CRYING *weeps uncontrollably* Could this book be any cuter? I mean SERIOUSLY! I cannot even handle the amount of feels I am experienced the moment I finished the book. As I closed the book,  I was practically shaking because of how much I loved it! It was the perfect ending to an adorable series. Lara Jean and Peter experienced the typical highs and stresses of one’s senior year of high school; worrying about where you’ll go to college, juggling relationships with the upcoming life changes.

Growing up is hard and it’s a shock to realise that what is happening may happening for the last time. But level-headed Lara Jean takes it all in stride like the crafty, baking champion that she is. I can’t believe I will no longer be volunteering at the Belleview with Lara Jean or helping her bake or going to watch Peter play in lacrosse games. I’ll no longer be there for Lara Jean’s Skype dates with her older sister Margot in Scotland, or listen to her younger sister Kitty’s sarcastic but oddly wise comments. I’ll miss witnessing the growth of her relationship with her family as they all navigate their way through all the major changes that are occurring in their lives.

I will miss these characters oh so very much! I would love to see another book (I’ll even settle for a novella, which is not something I’m normally into!) that shows Peter and Lara Jean’s life update! I NEED MORE! They are just the cutest! Now I’ll just be comparing every guy to Peter Kavinsky (but let’s be real, no one compares to him 😉).

If you’re looking for an adorable series to read that will warm your heart, READ THESE BOOKS! You will not be disappointed ☺️❤️ This trilogy is perfect for light summer reading!


Have you read Always and Forever and the rest of the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series? Speak to me my wonderful bookworms!

Until next time,

-K

2 thoughts on “Review: Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

