Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 320 (US Hardcover)

Publication Date: 4 April 2017

My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“I’m the villain of my story, and the hero. Part of my mom and part of my dad. I am a fact of the universe. The possible and the impossible.”

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Pocahontas print by Marquis du Soleil

Okay, so it has taken me AGES to get this review up and I have NO IDEA why because as soon as I finished this book, I wanted to shout from the rooftops how much I adored this book! I mean it warms my soul just thinking about it!

Geekerella is essentially a love letter to fandom nerds everywhere and as a diehard fangirl, this book spoke to my nerdy soul! This clever, fun and modern spin on Cinderella was just a joy to read. Elle Whittimer, overlooked and underappreciated by her stepmother and stepsisters, seeks refuge in her blog that is all about her favourite show Starfield. Darien Freeman, teen heartthrob and secret Starfield fanboy, has just been cast as the main character in the Starfield movie reboot. What comes of this is absolute HILARITY and even some moments of rage (but never at these two and ALWAYS at Elle’s witch of a stepsister Chloe).

This book is just fabulous! I laughed with Elle and Darien, smiled every time those two (unknowingly) sent the sweetest texts to one another, and just gobbled this book up like it was about to run away from me! I couldn’t get enough of it! Elle reminded me a lot of Cath from Fangirl, my favourite contemporary novel. Hardcore fangirls who don’t apologise for their loyalty to and love for their fandom, Cath and Elle have a special place in my heart and Elle is sure to go down as one of my favourite contemporary heroines alongside Cath. I can already tell Geekerella will be one that I’ll be reading over and over again (and I RARELY reread books!) because it is just so fun and SO DANG CUTE! Seriously, my face hurt from all the smiling!

If you’re looking for a cute, geeky book to read this summer, PICK THIS UP! You’ll be happy you did ☺️


Have you picked up this adorably nerdy book? Have you found one that has a similar feel to this that you think I should read? Tell me all about it!

Until next time,

–K

5 thoughts on “Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

    1. Thanks so much!! This book really was so great! I think about how cute it is all the time ☺️Aww I’m so sad to hear you did like Fangirl 😱😭but to each their own! At least we can agree on how great Geekerella is 😂😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

